Artists rating / Emphatic Video | 222


Emphatic is an American hard rock band from Omaha, currently signed with Epochal/Capitol Records. Their major label debut record Damage for Atlantic reached No. 9 on Billboard Top Heatseekers chart in 2011.

The new album Another Life was released on October 22, 2013. The lead single from the album, "Remember Me", released on August 20, 2013, has reached Top 40 on U.S active rock and mainstream rock charts. Only days prior to its release, the album is streaming in its entirety exclusively at Revolver Magazine website.


Early years and Damage (2004–2012)

Emphatic was founded in 2004 by songwriter and lead guitarist Justin McCain. In 2005 Emphatic signed to Universal but never released anything with the label. In 2008, their EP Goodbye Girl spent 17 weeks on the Billboard's North West Central Top Heatseekers Chart. The band signed to Jeff Blue's Rock Shop Music Group in early 2009, and Jeff and Justin immediately started working on new material. After being offered deals from several labels Emphatic signed with Atlantic in December 2009 and signed a management deal with In De Goot Entertainment as well.

Emphatic consisted of only two members at that point, guitarist Justin McCain and vocalist Patrick Wilson. Justin and Patrick went in to the studio soon after to record their major label debut with multiplatinum producer Howard Benson. Josh Freese played drums on the record and Paul Bushnell played bass. After the record was finished Emphatic brought in Lance Dowdle on guitar, Dylan Wood on drums and Alan Larson on bass. The major label debut Damage was released on July 12, 2011.

Emphatic was offered an opening slot on The Carnival of Madness Tour in conjunction with the release of their first single "Bounce" which climbed to No. 19 on the charts. Patrick Wilson suffered a vocal injury (fractured larynx) before the tour which almost put the brakes on the project. Guitarist Justin McCain was developing an Omaha-based rock band at the time called The Wreckage, so he pulled vocalist Grant Kendrick out of the project to hit the road filling in for Patrick Wilson. The tour gained Emphatic thousands of new fans and helped launch the second single "Get Paid" which landed at No. 30 on the charts. After The Carnival of Madness tour the band went out on the road with Art of Dying, Adelitas Way, and New Medicine with yet another singer, Bryan Scott from Dev Electric.

Emphatic took a break to wait for Patrick to return and in the meantime was featured on CBS hit TV show Criminal Minds with their song "Do I", on the Footloose soundtrack (deluxe version) with their cover of Quiet Riot's "Metal Health", and on the WWE with their version of The Corre's theme song "End of Days". After 10 months vocalist Patrick Wilson finally reunited with the band along with new drummer Patrick Mussack and hit the road to tour as support for Halestorm and New Medicine. Octane started playing the third single "Put Down The Drink" which quickly landed on the BIG UNS countdown and spent 4 weeks at No. 1. However, halfway through the Halestorm tour McCain found out the label wasn’t going to pick up their next option on the contract.

After the tour Patrick Wilson left the band due to personal reasons. Lance Dowdle and Alan Larson left the band shortly after as well.

Another Life (2012–present)

Justin McCain wanted to rebuild the band and brought in Toryn Green on vocals, former frontman of platinum selling artist Fuel and Apocalyptica. Actor/musician Jesse Saint (Scum of the Earth/The Autumn Offering) joined the band as the new bass player and Bill Hudson of Cellador joined as co-lead guitar player. McCain was able to land the band another record deal with Epochal Artist Records/Capitol, and they started working on new material, set to record in early 2013.

McCain and Green joined forces creatively in making of the record, both bringing in songs from their own arsenal, and working together on writing new ones. The record includes collaborations with "Sahaj" Ticotin of alternative metal band Ra, Tommy Henriksen, Brian Vodinh of 10 Years, Bobby Huff, Tobin Esperance (bassist of Papa Roach), and Johnny Andrews.

The new album Another Life, produced by Justin McCain and co-produced by Ryan Greene, was released through Epochal Artists Records on October 22, 2013. The single "Remember Me", written by Justin McCain, Toryn Green and Sahaj, impacted radio on July 30, 2013, and was released on iTunes August 20, 2013.

In support of the album, Emphatic toured with Red and Gemini Syndrome in February 2014. The band performed without the lead singer Toryn Green and co-lead guitarist Bill Hudson who are replaced by Grant Kendrick and Lance Dowdle, as announced on the band's website February 2, 2014. Toryn Green announced departure from the band on February 9, 2014, stating creative differences with founder Justin McCain.

After the tour, Justin McCain announced signing to Pavement Entertainment, and a new album being in the works, due late 2014. "With some welcomed changes that have occurred with Emphatic, we felt it necessary to get back into the studio and make an album that reflects the current vision of the band" stated McCain in the press release. McCain also welcomed long-time touring vocalist Grant Kendrick "full time" to the band on the band's Facebook page. He also revealed that the new album will be featuring guest singers, such as Sahaj from Ra and Phil Anson from Venaculas, and a collaboration with Jonny Hetherington of Art of Dying.



Year Album details Peak chart positions
US Heat.
US Hard
US Ind.
2005 Emphatic
  • Label: independent
2008 Goodbye Girl (EP)
  • Label: independent
2010 Riot 10 (Limited edition EP)
  • Label: independent
2011 Damage
  • Released: July 12, 2011
  • Label: Atlantic
9 23
2013 Another Life
  • Released: October 22, 2013
  • Label: Epochal, Capitol
8 22 40


Year Song Peak chart positions Album
US Active Rock
US Main.
2011 "Bounce" 21 23 Damage
"Get Paid" 26 30
2012 "Put Down the Drink"
2013 "Remember Me" 32 30 Another Life

Band members

  • Justin McCain – Lead Guitar (2004–present)
  • Grant Joshua Kendrick – Vocals (2014–present)
  • Lance Dowdle – Co-Lead Guitar (2011–2012, 2014–present)
  • Jesse Saint – Bass (2012–present)
  • Patrick Mussack – Drums (2012–present)
Former members
  • Toryn Green – Vocals (2012–2014)
  • Bill Hudson – Co-Lead Guitar (2012–2014)
  • Patrick Michael Wilson - Vocals (2004–2012)
  • Alan Larson – Bass
  • Dylan Wood – Drums (2011–2012)
  • Jeff Fenn – Keys/Samples, Programming
  • Tom Lynch – Co-Lead Guitar
  • Mike Schmit – Bass
  • Jason Blayney – Drums
  • Matt Denker – Drums


External links

Show all...


There are no comments.

Only registered users can post comments.